The Ministry of Justice was established to oversee the administration of justice through the Courts of law.


Its primary function is the provision and maintenance of an equitable justice system for the country based on the principles of the autonomy of the Judiciary, fairness and genuine concern for the rights of the individual. The Minister of Justice is the Head of the Ministry.


Hon. Vuna Fa'otusia- Minister for Justice and Prisons

Ms. Susana Faletau - Chief Executive Officer for Justice

Semisi Tapueluelu - Prisons Commissioner


The Ministry has four major divisions each contributing significantly to the overall attainment of the primary function of the Ministry as follows.


Location: Corner Lavinia and Kausela Rd. Nuku'alofa, TONGA.  Ph: +676 25618  P.O Box 130, Nuku'alofa, TONGA.
Officer in charge: CEO: Susana Faletau

  • SUPREME COURT OFFICE ('Ofisi Fakamaau'anga Lahi)

Registry (Fale Lesisita Fa'ele, Pekia, Mali)
Location : Nuku'alofa
P.O Box 11  Nuku'alofa TONGA. Ph: +676 23599  Fax: +676 22380
Officer in charge : Chief Registrar, Mrs. Temaleti Manakovi Pahulu

  • MAJISTRATES COURT OFFICE ('Ofisi Fakamaau'anga Polisi)

Location: Opposite Pangai Si'i
Ph: +676 23599
Officer in charge : Assistant Secretary, Mr. Sateki Afu.

  • VITAL STATISTICS OFFICE (‘Ofisi ‘o e ngaahi lekooti mahu'inga- Fale Tohita'u)

Location: Opposite Talamahu Market, Nuku'alofa, TONGA.
Ph: +676 23599 Fax: +676 22380
Officer in charge : Assistant Vital Statistics Officer, Mrs. Mele Kafo'atu Mafile'o


Location: Corner Lavinia and Kausela Rds Nuku'alofa TONGA.   Ph: +676 28404
Officer in charge : Chief Bailiff Officer, Mr. Paula Fe'aomoeata


Location: Corner Lavinia and Kausela Rds, Nuku'alofa, TONGA.
Ph: +676 25011
Officer in charge : Probation Officer , Patelesio Pale



The Administration Division is headed by the Secretary of Justice who is also the Head of the Department. The Division is responsible for the execution of daily administrative matters, finance, policy development, legislative review and the provision of effective administrative support to the Judiciary to facilitate promotion and maintenance of an accessible justice system for the country.


The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Justice and responsible for the promotion and maintenance of a fair and equitable justice system through the effective and timely adjudication of disputes and resolutions regarding questions of law in Courts with appropriate jurisdictions.

Enforce Division

The Enforce Divisions consist of the Bailiff and Probation sections and its primary function is the execution and enforcement of Court Orders. Through proper and timely execution of its function the Enforcement Division contributes significantly to the attainment of a fair and equitable justice system.

Civil Registration

The final part of the Ministry, the Civil Registration Division, complements the works of the Ministry and the Judiciary through the storing and provision of accurate vital statistics for Ministerial, Judicial and individual use.


The Ministry has a current staff of 80 including those working at the Judiciary.

The main administration office, including the Bailiff and Probation offices, is located at the capital, Nuku'alofa, at the corner of Lavinia and Kausela Roads whilst the Judiciary is situated at Railway Road adjacent to the Legislative Assembly and Talamahu market. There are Magistrate Courts and offices at Vava'u and Ha'apai operated by resident Magistrates and support staff.

Regular Magistrate Court circuits are made to island locations where there are no resident Magistrates. Supreme Court Judges are stationed only at Nuku'alofa but conduct regular circuits to the other main islands every year or when the need arises.


For any queries regarding the functions of the Ministry please contact the Secretary of Justice.

Postal Address: P.O Box 130, Nuku'alofa

Fax #:  (676) 23 098.

Website URL:



Mrs. Mele Ikatonga Vaitohi

Who's Online

We have 120 guests online