Government Ministeries- 14 Ministries (January 2015)

E-mail Print PDF
Following the Government structural reform that was effective from December 2015.
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade
Minister Responsible: Prime Minister Hon. Samiuela 'Akilisi Pohiva
Chief Executive Officer: Mr. Va'ingaTone (Title: Secretary for Foreign Affairs and Trade)
Core Functions: Foreign Affairs -  trade policy and negotiations labour mobility
MINISTRY NAME: Prime Minister's Office
Minister Responsible: Prime Minister Hon. Samiuela 'Akilisi Pohiva
Chief Executive Officer: -
Mr. Paula P. Ma'u (Director for Information and Communications)
Core Functions: Prime Minister's Office's - central coordination role, Secretariat to Cabinet
Information -  Government information policy and disclosure, & dissemination, media liaison and government enquiries & response, archives
Communications - government regulator of communications and telecommunication services and licenses
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Finance and National Planning
Minister Responsible: Hon. 'Aisake Valu Eke
Chief Executive Officer: Mr.  (Secretary for Finance and National Planning)
Core Functions: Finance - finance,  Government budget, treasury, fiscal policy
National Planning - national planning development and growth policy
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Revenue and Customs
Minister Responsible: Hon. Tevita Lavemaau
Chief Executive Officer: Mrs. Irma Daphney Stone
Core Functions: - Inland Revenue, Customs Department, Tax and Revenue Services
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Police, Prisons and Fire Services
Minister Responsible: Hon. Dr Pohiva Tuionetoa
Chief Executive Officer: Police Commissioner Grant' O'Fee
Core Functions: - Policing, community safety, fire services and prisons
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Public Enterprises
Minister Responsible: Hon. Poasi Tei
Chief Executive Officer: -
Core Functions: -Public enterprises supervsiion broad policies
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Internal Affairs
Minister Responsible: Hon. Fe'aomoeata Vakata
Chief Executive Officer: Mr. Lopeti Senituli (Chief Executive Officer of Internal Affairs)
Core Functions: -District and Town Officers, Governors and Government Representatives, women, culture, youth, sports, employment, district development communities, social protection and community projects.
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Justice
Minister Responsible: Hon. Vuna Faka'otusia
Chief Executive Officer: Ms Susana Faletau (Secretary for Justice)
Core Functions: -Law reforms and revision, reporting and commission, Liaison with Lord Chancellor and Attorney General
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Health
Minister Responsible: Hon. Saia Piukala
Chief Executive Officer: Dr. Siale 'Akau'ola (Director of Health)
Core Functions: -Health, Clinical and Public Health, Dental Services, diagnostic services
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Education and Training
Minister Responsible: Hon. Samiuela 'Akilisi Pohiva
Chief Executive Officer: Mrs. Emily Pouvalu (Director of Education and Tranining)
Core Functions: -Education and Training policy
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Commerce and Tourism and Labour
Minister Responsible: Hon. Dr Pohiva Tui'onetoa
Chief Executive Officer: Mrs Vaimoana Taukolo  (Acting Chief Executive Officer)
Core Functions: -Policy for commerce, industry, labour, consumer protection; Tourism and regulatory functions
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Infrastructure
Minister Responsible: Hon. 'Etuate Sungalu Lavulavu
Chief Executive Officer: Mr. Ringo Fa'oliu  (Secretary for Infrastructure)
Core Functions: -Transports, works utilities (water and sanitation); construction and meteorological services
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Agriculture, Food, Forests and Fisheries
Minister Responsible: Hon. Semisi TauelangiFakahau
Chief Executive Officer: Mrs Losaline Ma'asi  (Director for Agriculture, Food, Forests and Fisheries)
Core Functions: -Policy for Agricultural development, Food security/quality, Forestry services and Fisheries regulatory policy
MINISTRY NAME: Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources
Minister Responsible: Lord Ma'afu
Chief Executive Officer: Mr. 'Asipeli Palaki (Secretary for Lands, Environment, Climate Change and Natural Resources)
Core Functions: - Lands, Survey, Environemt, Climate Change policies, Natural resources and spatial/urban planning
Issued by the: Ministry of Meteorology, Energy, Information, Disaster Management, Environment, Climate Change and Communications, Nuku'alofa, 2015.
Last Updated ( Monday, 16 March 2015 11:47 )  

Who's Online

We have 260 guests online